Department of Physical and Inorganic Chemistry

Department was established in 2014


In 2014 a new Department of Physical and Inorganic Chemistry was established by merging the former departments of Physical Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry and General Chemistry.


World-class scientific research, training of highly qualified Bachelor, Master’s and Doctoral students who are marketable at national and international levels and able to apply their acquired knowledge to scientific and practical activities.
The department employs highly qualified lecturers who perform intense scientific activities and participate in study and scientific projects.


  • Pedagogical: The department trains Bachelor graduates in chemical technologies and engineering (inorganic material technologies, mineral fertilizers and electrochemical production specialisations) and Master’s graduates in chemical engineering and chemistry programmes. It also actively participates in Doctoral programmes in chemical engineering and chemistry. All Bachelor and Master’s degree programmes are conducted in Lithuanian and English.
  • Students, overseen by the department, are encouraged to actively participate in the European ERASMUS and ERASMUS+ educational exchange programmes.
    Scientific: The department’s scientific groups carry out research related to KTU’s priority fields, namely High Tech Materials and Technologies for Sustainable Development and Energy. The department’s lecturers actively participate in scientific research, cooperate with other KTU departments as well as other Lithuanian and foreign partners.
    The department’s lecturers cooperate closely with the Lithuanian companies Arvi Fertis, Achema and Lifosa performing outsourced work and solving issues relevant to chemistry industry companies. Students, overseen by the department, carry out placements and internships in several Lithuanian companies of working in the chemical industry.


The department trains Bachelor students in a Chemical Technology and Engineering programme and Master’s students in Chemical Engineering and Chemical programmes. It also actively participates in Chemical Engineering and Chemistry Doctoral programmes.


The Department of Physical and Inorganic Chemistry consists of divisions of General Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry and Physical and Inorganic Chemistry. There are three scientific groups working in these divisions which are formed according to the work fields and topics.

Division of General Chemistry: The main field of work in this division is the electrolytic deposition of manganese and its alloys and research of received coatings, aiming to use them as anode protection steel coatings and as solder for diffusion welding of various kinds of metals and their alloys.

Scientific research at the Division of General Chemistry is carried out by the technical issues in electrochemistry scientific group. The main areas of scientific research of this group include electrolytic deposition of manganese, its alloys, their corrosion resistance and research into CuxS layers on plastics.

The organic synthesis and technologies scientific group works in cooperation with other departments. The main areas of scientific research of this group includes  the synthesis of n-substituted amino acids and their derivatives and the  cyclisation of received compounds, the synthesis of alkyl quinoline derivatives and the characteristics of received compounds and the creation and complex research of eco-friendly, effective technologies for leather processing.

The Division of Physical Chemistry carries out research related to KTU’s priority field New High Tech Materials. Two sub-topics can be distinguished, which includes research into special multi-component systems and their application:

The physical chemical characteristics of oxide systems of transition metals and their use aims to create new absorbents, catalysts and coatings, determining their physical chemical characteristics and use.

The production, characteristics and use of compound fertilisers. Research is carried out into expanding the assortment of fertilisers, containing natural unconventional easily accessible raw materials (dolomite, zeolite and ash) or other production waste.

Division of Inorganic Chemistry: The field of scientific work this division carries out is related to the synthesis of new chalcogenide compounds and the production of chalcogenide coatings and research into their characteristics. The main field of work of the scientific group is related to the main taught subjects including inorganic chemistry and chemical analysis, the forming of the elements of new compounds of V, VI, VIIA group elements, non-metals, their chemical and physical-chemical characteristics, composition and structure, adaptation of these elements and their compounds of low degree oxidation if forming of semiconductors and layers of binary compounds of electrically conductive thin d-metal-non-metal (sulphides, selenides, tellurides), composite materials distinguished by new characteristics and the forming of the surface of dielectrics, which are relevant for nanoscience and technology.


Gintarė Paškevičienė

Radvilėnų st. 19-252 Kaunas, Lithuania
tel. +370 (37) 45 70 70
e. p.



Prof. Ingrida Ancutienė

Head of Department

Radvilėnų pl. 19, Kaunas
phone: +370 (37) 300 171


Name surname Adress E-mail
Saulius Kitrys Radvilėnų st. 19 C-253
Eugenijus Valatka Radvilėnų st. 19 C-249
Ingrida Ancutienė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-343
Algirdas Šulčius Radvilėnų st. 19 C-341
Virgilijus Valeika Radvilėnų st. 19 C-333

Associate Professors

Name surname Adress E-mail
Nijolė Dukštienė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-247
Rasa Šlinkšienė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-256
Rasa Paleckienė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-257
Gitana Dabrilaitė-Kudžmienė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-259
Remigijus Ivanauskas Radvilėnų st. 19 C-346
Valentina Krylova Radvilėnų st. 19 C-348
Neringa Petrašauskienė Radvilėnų stl. 19 C-342
Egidijus Griškonis Radvilėnų st. 19 C-332
Kristina Kantminienė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-338
Edita Paluckienė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-336
Rasa Alaburdaitė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-340


Vardas pavardė Adresas El. paštas
Andrius Jaskūnas Radvilėnų st. 19 C-330
Dovilė Sinkevičiūtė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-247
Simona Ostachavičiūtė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-249
Kristina Jančaitienė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-244
Agnė Šulčiūtė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-249
Skirma Žalenkienė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-345
Rūta Stokienė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-345
Nerita Žmuidzinavičienė Radvilėnų st. 19 C-339
We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more or switch them off if you prefer. However, by continuing to use the site without changing settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.